Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Shanghai Cooperation Organisations 8 Wonders list

Shanghai Cooperation Organisations 8 Wonders list

Posted on : 17 Jan 2020

Views: 848

  • The 182-meter tall Statue of Unity in Gujarat has been included in the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation's '8 Wonders of SCO' list.
  • The SCO is an eight-member alliance from Eurasia, which includes India, China, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.
  • The statue is located near the Sardar Sarovar Dam on the river Narmada in Kevadiya colony in Gujarat.
  • Designed by Indian sculptor Ram V Sutar, the project was first announced in 2010 and was finally unveiled on October 31, 2018 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • In November 2019, the world's tallest statue surpassed the footfall at the 133-year-old Statue of Liberty in the US, with an average of over 15,000 tourists visiting the monument in Gujarat daily.
  • Apart from Statue of Unity, the other seven wonders of SCO include:

o Daming Palace in China,

o Navruz Palace in Tajikistan,

o Mughals Heritage in Pakistan,

o Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan,

o Po-i-Kalan Complex in Uzbekistan,

o The Golden Ring of Russia and Lahore

Article Related Questions

  1. Recently Shanghai Cooperation Organisations 8 Wonders list has been released, consider the following statements regarding it?
    1.SCO is an eight member alliance from Eurasia which includes India and Pakistan
    2.Mughals Heritage in Pakistan is a part of the list
    3.Taj Mahal has been recently added to the list
    Which of the following statement is/are correct?

  2. 1.1 and 2 only

    2.2 and 3 only

    3.1, 2 and 3

    4.3 only

    Right Ans : 1 and 2 only

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products