Home » Civil Services List » Indian Civil Accounts Service

Indian Civil Accounts Service

The separation of accounts from audit at the Union level has led to the creation of the new Indian Civil Accounts cadre. The Controller and Auditor General of India does not, however, control this cadre but the Secretary (Expenditure) in the Ministry of Finance (Government of India) exercises this function.

The hierarchy:
Assistant Controller of Accounts > Deputy Controller of Accounts > Controller of Accounts > Additional Controller General of Accounts > Controller General of Accounts (equivalent to Additional Secretary, to the Government of India.)

Indian Civil Accounts Service Eligibility

The eligibility criteria for the Indian Civil Accounts Service exam is the same as for other services. Once the candidate clears the civil services and gets allotment to the Indian foriegn service as per his rank, he has to go through specified training.

ICAS Recruitment and Training

ICAS (Indian Civil Accounts Organization) has the major responsibilities in execution of financial management services for the Indian Government. CGA (Controller General of Accounts) heads the office and supervises for managing the system.

The immense proficiency vacant with the ICAS is brought to use by the government at different levels of judgement and also by the IMP in several countries for guidance on financial management and accounting functions.

Upon successful clearing the exam officers selected for ICAS are trained in three phases. For a period of 10 months the officers are sent to National Institute of Financial Management (NIFM), Faridabad and National Academy of Direct Taxes at Nagpur with officers selected for Accounts and Finance Services, Indian Defence Accounts Services, Indian Postal-Telecom.

Further NIFM offers candidates selected for ICAS, PG diploma in Public Financial Management and also taken overseas for Foreign Country experience. In the year 2011 the selected candidates for ICAS were taken to Manchester, in 2012 Malaysia and Singapore and in 2013 University of California and US.

After the NIFM training, the ICAS officers head towards the third or the final stage of training to INGAF that is the Institute of Government Accounts and Finance. Here the ICAS Officers are sent for the on-job- training that is (OJT) from the office of CGA.

INGAF was founded in 1992 and is well known for its brilliance in the field of Public Policy, Finance, Audit and Management. The programmes conducted by INGAF draws attention not only of professionals from Central Government but also the State Administration and Union Province, Civic Division undertakings, Sovereign Bodies and Banks.

ICAS Exam 2016

The ICAS exam 2016 notification has come and the last date of online application was on the 27th of may 2016. The date of prelims exam is 7th August 2016. The next exam will happen in 2016 around the same time.

ICAS syllabus 2016

The syllabus for the civil services exam in 2016 and every other year is the same for the ICAS as well as other services. There is no difference whatsoever.

Indian Civil Accounts Service Ranks and Salaries

Sl.No. Name of Post/grade Pay Scale
1 Junior Time Scale Rs. 15,600-39,100 Grade Pay Rs.5,400
2 Senior Time Scale Rs. 15,600-39,100 Grade Pay Rs.6,600
3 Junior Administrative Grade Rs. 15,600-39,100 Grade Pay Rs 7,600
4 Selection Grade (Non-functional) Junior Administrative Grade (NFSG) Rs. 37,400-67,000 Grade Pay Rs. 8,700
5 Senior Administrative Grade Rs. 37,400-67,000 Grade Pay Rs 10,000
6 Principal Chief Controller of Accounts Rs.67,000-79,000
7 Additional Controller General of Accounts Rs.75,500-80,000
8 Controller General of Accounts