Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Zonal councils

Zonal councils

Posted on : 25 Feb 2020

Views: 1974

  • The Zonal Councils are the statutory (and not the constitutional) bodies. They are established by an Act of the Parliament, that is, States Reorganisation Act of 1956.
  • The act divided the country into five zones (Northern, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern) and provided a zonal council for each zone.
  • North-Eastern Council:
    • In addition to the above Zonal Councils, a North-Eastern Council was created by a separate North-Eastern Council Act of 1971.
    • Its members include Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunchal Pradesh, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura and Sikkim.


Members of the Zonal council

  • Home minister of Central government.
  • Chief Ministers of all the States in the zone.
  • Two other ministers from each state in the zone.
  • Administrator of each union territory in the zone.
  • The home minister of Central government is the common chairman of the five zonal councils.
  • Each chief minister acts as a vice-chairman of the council by rotation, holding office for a period of one year at a time.
  • Advisers - One person nominated by the Planning Commission for each of the Zonal Councils, Chief Secretaries and another officer/Development Commissioner nominated by each of the States included in the Zone.
  • Union Ministers are also invited to participate in the meetings of Zonal Councils depending upon necessity.

Article Related Questions

  1. Zonal councils are established by which of the following act?

  2. 1.The Constitution (First Amendment) Act, 1951

    2.Representation of Peoples acts 1951

    3.Inter-state river water disputes Act, 1956

    4.States Reorganisation Act, 1956

    Right Ans : States Reorganisation Act, 1956

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products