Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Doctrines of Jainism

Doctrines of Jainism

Posted on : 22 Feb 2020

Views: 3842

  • Jainism taught five doctrines: (i) do not commit violence, (ii) do not tell a lie, (iii) do not steal, (iv) do not hoard, and (v) observe continence (brahmacharya).
  • Jainism recognized the existence of the gods but placed them lower than the Jina, and did not condemn the varna system as Buddhism did. According to Mahavira, a person is born in a high or in lower varna as a consequence of his sins committed or virtues acquired by him in his previous birth.
  • Mahavira looks for human values even in a chandala. In his opinion, by leading a pure and meritorious life, members of the lower castes can achieve liberation.
  • Jainism principally aims at the attainment of freedom from worldly bonds. No ritual is necessary for such liberation. It can be obtained through the right knowledge, right faith, and right action. These three are considered to be the three jewels or Triratna of Jainism.
  • Jainism prohibited the practice of war and even agriculture for its followers because both involve the killing of living beings. Eventually, the Jainas principally confined themselves to trade and mercantile activities.

Article Related Questions

  1. Which of the following statements is/are correct regarding Principles of Jainism?
    1.It condemned the varna system as Buddhism did.
    2.It principally aims at the attainment of freedom from worldly bonds.
    3.Satya, Ahimsa and Asteya are considered as Triratna of Jainism.
    Select the correct answer using the code given below:

  2. 1.1 and 2 only

    2.2 only

    3.1 and 3 only

    4.None of the above

    Right Ans : 2 only

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products