Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Legislative Councils

Legislative Councils

Posted on : 26 Feb 2020

Views: 948

  • India has a bicameral system i.e. two Houses of Parliament- theUpper House (RajyaSabha) and the lower House in (LokSabha).
  • At the state level, the equivalent of the RajyaSabha is the Legislative Council (VidhanParishad) and that of LokSabha is the Legislative Assembly (VidhanSabha).
  • The Constitution of India does not force a bicameral legislature on states. It allows states the option of having a second House. 
  • The State Assembly has to pass a resolution for the creation of the Council by a majority of its total membership.
  • Thereafter, the Parliament (under Article 169) has the power to create or abolish the Legislative Council on the basis of a resolution adopted by the special majority in the Assembly of the concerned State. 
  • A second house—a state legislative council (VidhanParishad), with unelected members—has always been a point of contention throughout history.
  • Assam was the first state to abolish its state legislative council. The state passed a resolution for the same in 1947.
  • After Assam, West Bengal had abolished its legislative council in 1969 and Punjab abolished it in 1970.
  • The Andhra Pradesh legislative council, with 58 members, was first abolished in 1985. It was revived in March 2007.
  • As of today, five states have Legislative Councils: Telangana, Bihar, Maharashtra, Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh.
  • Jammu and Kashmir had a Council until the state was bifurcated into the Union Territories of J&K and Ladakh.

Article Related Questions

  1. Consider the following statements
    1.Under Article 169 of the Constitution of India, the state can establish Legislative Councils.
    2.Seven Indian states have Legislative Councils.
    Which of the above statement(s) is/are correct?

  2. 1.1 only

    2.2 only

    3.Both 1 and 2

    4.Neither 1 nor 2

    Right Ans : 1 only

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products