Home »Current Affairs » Articles »South china sea

South china sea

Posted on : 11 Feb 2020

Views: 972

  • South China Sea is an arm of western Pacific Ocean in Southeast Asia.
  • It is south of China, east & south of Vietnam, west of the Philippines and north of the island of Borneo.
  • Bordering states & territories (clockwise from north): the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of China (Taiwan), the Philippines, Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia, Singapore and Vietnam.
  • It is connected by Taiwan Strait with the East China Sea and by Luzon Strait with the Philippine Sea.
  • It contains numerous shoals, reefs, atolls and islands. The Paracel Islands, the Spratly Islands and the Scarborough Shoal are the most important.
  • The South China Sea, one of the world’s busiest waterways, is subject to several overlapping territorial disputes involving China, Vietnam, the Philippines, Taiwan, Malaysia and Brunei.
  • The conflict has remained unresolved for decades but has emerged as a flashpoint in China-US relations in Asia.

Article Related Questions

  1. South China Sea being one of the world’s busiest waterways has emerged as the major conflict in the world. Which of the following countries are surrounding it?

  2. 1.China, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore

    2.China, Sri-lanka, Indonesia, Philippines and Vietnam

    3.Singapore, China, Philippines, Myanmar, Malaysia

    4.India, China, Japan, Brunei and Singapore

    Right Ans : China, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products