Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Swarajists and No-Changers

Swarajists and No-Changers

Posted on : 01 Feb 2020

Views: 4807

  • After Gandhi’s arrest (March 1922), there was disintegration, disorganization, and demoralization among nationalist ranks. A debate started among Congressmen on what to do during the transition period, i.e., the passive phase of the movement.
  • One section led by C.R. Das, Motilal Nehru, and Ajmal Khan wanted an end to the boycott of legislative councils so that the nationalists could enter them to expose the basic weaknesses of these assemblies and use these councils as an arena of political struggle to arouse popular enthusiasm.
  • They wanted, in other words, to ‘end or mend’ these councils, i.e., if the government did not respond to the nationalists’ demands, then they would obstruct the working of these councils.
  • Those advocating entry into legislative councils came to be known as the ‘Swarajists’, while the other school of thought led by C. Rajagopalachari, Vallabhbhai Patel, Rajendra Prasad, and M.A. Ansari came to be known as the ‘No-changers’.
  • The ‘No-changers’ opposed council entry, advocated concentration on constructive work, and continuation of boycott and non-cooperation, and quiet preparation for resumption of the suspended civil disobedience program.

Article Related Questions

  1. Which of the following leaders were known as No-Changers?
    1.C. Rajagopalachari
    2.Rajendra Prasad
    3.C.R. Das
    4.Vallabhbhai Patel
    5.Ajmal Khan
    Select the correct answer using the code given below

  2. 1.1 and 2 only

    2.3, 4 and 5 only

    3.1, 3 and 5 only

    4.1, 2 and 4 only

    Right Ans : 1, 2 and 4 only

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products