Mains Answer Writing Course
 Home »Current Affairs » Articles »The Commonwealth of Nations

The Commonwealth of Nations

Posted on : 06 Feb 2020

Views: 2649

  • The Commonwealth of Nations, generally known simply as the Commonwealth, is a political association of 54 member states, mostly former territories of the British Empire.
  • In 2016, the Maldives pulled out of the Commonwealth terming “unjust” the grouping’s decision to penalise the country over former President Mohamed Nasheed’s controversial ouster in 2012.
  • It followed the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG)’s warning to Maldives of suspension from the bloc, voicing “deep disappointment” over the country’s lack of progress in resolving the political crisis during former President Abdulla Yameen’s presidency, whose authoritarian slant sparked concern domestically and internationally.
  • However, The Maldives recently re-joined the Commonwealth, more than three years after the Indian Ocean island nation quit the association amid mounting criticism of its human rights record then.
  • The Commonwealth of Independent States (or CIS) is an intergovernmental organization made up of post-Soviet nations throughout Eurasia.
  • There are nine member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States. These CIS states are: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.
  • However, Turkmenistan changed its CIS standing to associate member as of 26 August 2005. 

Article Related Questions

  1. Consider the following statements
    1.Commonwealth of Nations is a political association of 53 member states.
    2.In 2017, Maldives pulled out of commonwealth amid mounting criticism of human records then.
    3.Turkmenistan is a member of the commonwealth of independent states.
    Which of the statements given above is/correct?

  2. 1.1 and 2 only

    2.2 and 3 only

    3.3 only

    4.1, 2 and 3

    Right Ans : 3 only

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products