Home »Current Affairs » Articles »Tiger Corridors and Tiger census

Tiger Corridors and Tiger census

Posted on : 05 Dec 2019

Views: 154

  • The Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change provided the details of tiger corridor mapping.
  • The National Tiger Conservation Authority in collaboration with the Wildlife Institute of India has mapped out major 'tiger corridors' across the country for the ease of conservation efforts
  • The corridors are located in the Shivalik hills and Gangetic plains, central India and Eastern Ghats, Western Ghats and the North Eastern hills.
  • The government is also set to fund support for conservation initiatives taken by these tiger reserves.
  • Another measure is restricting habitat interventions. This will be done by limiting human interaction even in buffer areas around tiger reserves, thereby minimalizing man-animal conflict and excessive spillover of wildlife, including tigers.
  • The National Tiger Conservation Authority has also authorised official training to deal with emergency arising due to tigers straying into human-dominated landscapes, tiger depredation on livestock, and to work towards active rehabilitation of tigers.

Sl. No.



States/ Country


Shivalik Hills & Gangetic Plains

  • Rajaji-Corbett


(ii) Corbett-Dudhwa

Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Nepal

(iii) Dudhwa-Kishanpur-Katerniaghat

Uttar Pradesh, Nepal


Central India & Eastern Ghats

(i) Ranthambhore-Kuno-Madhav

Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan

(ii) Bandhavgarh-Achanakmar

Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh

(iii) Bandhavgarh-Sanjay Dubri-Guru Ghasidas

Madhya Pradesh

(iv) Guru Ghasidas-Palamau-Lawalong

Chhattisgarh & Jharkhand

(v) Kanha-Achanakmar

Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh

(vi) Kanha-Pench

Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra

(vii) Pench-Satpura-Melghat

Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra

(viii) Kanha-Navegaon Nagzira-Tadoba-Indravati

Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh

(ix) Indravati-Udanti Sitanadi-Sunabeda

Chhattisgarh, Odisha

(x) Similipal-Satkosia


(xi) Nagarjunasagar-Sri Venkateshwara National Park

Andhra Pradesh


Western Ghats

(i) Sahyadri-Radhanagari-Goa

Maharashtra, Goa

(ii) Dandeli Anshi-Shravathi Valley


(iii) Kudremukh-Bhadra


(iv) Nagarahole-Pusphagiri-Talakavery


(v) Nagarahole-Bandipur-Mudumalai-Wayanad

Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu

(vi) Nagarahole-Mudumalai-Wayanad

Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu

(vii) Parambikulam-Eranikulam-Indira Gandhi

Kerala, Tamil Nadu

(viii) Kalakad Mundanthurai-Periyar

Kerala, Tamil Nadu


North East

(i) Kaziranga-Itanagar WLS

Assam, Arunachal Pradesh

(ii) Kaziranga-Karbi Anglong


(iii) Kaziranga-Nameri


(iv) Kaziranga-Orang


(v) Kaziranga-Papum Pane


(vi) Manas-Buxa

Assam, West Bengal, Bhutan

(vii) Pakke-Nameri-Sonai Rupai-Manas

Arunachal Pradesh, Assam

(viii) Dibru Saikhowa-D’Ering-Mehaong

Assam, Arunachal Pradesh

(ix) Kamlang-Kane-Tale Valley

Arunachal Pradesh

(x) Buxa-Jaldapara

West Bengal

Article Related Questions

  1. GoI mapped Tiger Corridors in the country recently; consider the following statements regarding it
    1.The National Tiger Conservation Authority in collaboration with the Wildlife Institute of India has mapped out major 'tiger corridors' across the country.
    2.Madhya Pradesh saw the highest number of tigers in the recent census.
    3.This gargantuan exercise of tiger counting is been conducted annually.
    Which of the following statement is/are correct?

  2. 1.1 and 2 only

    2.1 and 3 only

    3.3 only

    4.1, 2 and 3

    Right Ans : 1 and 2 only

  3. The 1857 Uprising was the culmination of the recurrent big and small local rebellions that occured in the preceding hundred years of British Rule. Elucidate (Answer in 150 words) - 2019 Mains

Read More Current-Affairs Articles

See More Products