Home » Civil Services List » Indian Police Service

Indian Police Service

The Indian Police Service [IPS] is primarily concerned with maintenance of Law and Order in the country. This is a premier uniformed civil service in India.

An I.P.S officer works for both the Central and State Governments. He serves the State Government in various capacities ranging from Assistant Superintendent of Police at the beginning of his career to the Director General of Police (who is the head of the police force in his state) at the stage of retirement.

He can also serve the Central Government in various organizations like the Central Reserve Police Force, Border Security Force, Central Bureau of Investigation, Intelligence Bureau, Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) etc.

IAS Academy Bangalore

The IPS (Indian Police Service) is responsible for public safety and security. The IPS mainly takes care of law and order, which, at the district level, is a responsibility shared with the IAS; crime prevention and detection ; and traffic control and accident prevention and management.

In order to fulfil these functions with greater efficiency, this service is divided into various functional departments, including: " Crime Branch, " Criminal Investigation Department (CID), " Home Guards, " Traffic Bureau.

With changing times however, more and more IPS officers are serving in departments and areas that used to exclusively be the forte of IAS officers, just as the IAS officers now at times head departments like vigilance which were exclusively given to IPS officers.

This widening of opportunities and exposure has made the IPS even more attractive. Again being an 'All India Service', it follows the Cadre system.

In this system officers are allotted to various state cadres and your service is allotted to that state. So for all practical purposes an IPS officer belongs to that state service and may be deputed elsewhere but will always be recognized by the parent cadre.

This system though very useful tends to positively and negatively affect careers of an IPS officer. The cadre system is allotted on a basis of lottery and the toppers of each state may get a chance to get their home states if they have opted for such a preference.

The IPS posts like the IAS, is also filled through the Civil Services exam conducted by UPSC. Find below details of the IPS recruitment in the IAS IPS exam 2015 and the IAS IPS exam syllabus.

IPS Eligibility

The eligibility criteria for the IPS exam are the same as for other services but there are some physical criteria prescribed for the IPS officers. Once the candidate clears the civil services final exam and gets allotment to the IPS as per his rank, he has to go through the specified physical tests to make him eligible for service as a police officer. Some of the special physical requirements for IPS are listed below. They are also subject to change as per UPSC notifications.

  1. A minimum height of 165 cm for men and 150 cm for women (the minimum height is relaxable to 160 and 145 cm for men and women respectively in the case of candidates belonging to ST and to races such as Gorkhas, Garhwalias, Assamese, Kumaonis, Nagaland Tribals, etc.)
  2. The minimum chest girth fully expanded: 84 cm for men and 79 cm for women, expansion of 5 cm for both men and women.
  3. The total amount of Myopia (including the cylinder) should not exceed minus 4.00 D and the total amount of Hypermetropia (including the cylinder) should not exceed plus 4.00 D. The presence of Squint is a disqualification.
  4. The Distant vision for better eye(Corrected Vision) should be 6/6 or 6/9 and for the worse eye(Uncorrected Vision) should be 6/12 or 6/9 and near vision should be J1 and J2 respectively.
  5. Spectacles are permitted
  6. High grade colour vision is required and Binocular vision is needed.

IPS Recruitment and Training

The IPS recruitment and training period is among the longest in all services and extends to almost 2 years in total. Usually the first part of the training is done with the other services like the IAS at Mussoorie. From Mussourie they go for Bharat Darshan with other services in groups. The second part of the training in 2 phases is done in the National Police Academy (NPA) in Hyderabad. The IPS officers also have a certain amount of training in a district of their cadre in between the 2 phases of training at the IPS academy.

Learning the Native Language of the cadre is part of the training of the IPS officer. It begins in the academy itself where they learn the basics. Once they join their cadre, they are expected to pass 2 levels of the exam and their promotions to the next level are dependent on that.

IPS exam 2016

The IPS exam 2016 notification has come and the date of prelims exam is 7th August 2016. The next exam will happen in 2017 around the same time.

IPS syllabus 2016

The syllabus for the civil services exam in 2016 and every other year is the same for the IAS as well as other services. There is no difference whatsoever.

IPS Salary and Ranks

The current pay scales for different designations or ranks of IPS officers have been presented in the following table:-

Designation or Rank

Similar position under a state government

Pay scale

Director General of Police

Commissioner of Police (name of the state)

80,000 INR (consolidated) no grade pay

Additional Director General of Police

Special Commissioner of Police

37,400-67,000 INR along with grade pay of 12,000 INR

Inspector General of Police

Joint Commissioner of Police

37,400-67,000 INR along with grade pay of 10,000 INR

Deputy Inspector General of Police

Additional Commissioner of Police

37,400-67,000 INR along with grade pay of 8,900 INR

Senior Superintendent of Police

Deputy Commissioner of Police

15,600-39,100 INR along with grade pay of 8,700 INR

Superintendent of Police

Deputy Commissioner of Police

15,600-39,000 INR along with grade pay of 7,600 INR

Additional Superintendent of Police

Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police

15,600-39,000 INR along with grade pay of 6,600 INR

Deputy Superintendent of Police

Assistant Commissioner of Police

15,600-39,100 INR along with grade pay of 5,400 INR

Apart from the salary, an IPS officer enjoys specific privileges according to the posting. The salary grades of IPS officers have been fixed by the Indian government that is upgraded every time a new pay commission is constituted.